MAN ON BOARD, PART II: Sometimes You Just “Know”.


01-23-2014

Since the weekend we met,  my relationship with Jeff has zip-lined along. At first, caring friends, who had seen me hurt, advised me to take things slowly.

“Be careful,” they urged. “Get to know each other, first.”

And Jeff and I did just that, talking on the phone, chatting on Zoosk, and text messaging into the wee hours. We lived forty-five miles apart, yet, with each day, we became more emotionally intimate. Although I had been a night owl, I was able to slip into a sweet sleep, dreaming of his arms around me. 

Since “Jeff and I”  became “us”, everything has fallen into place. Convinced that God led us to each other, we started talking about marriage.

Last Friday, January 17, as we strolled the aisles at Dallas Market Center, we discovered J.C. Jewelers.

“Hey, babe, let’s see if they’ll size us,” I suggested.

Sure enough, the couple at the booth measured our fingers. I was a seven,and Jeff, a ten. Seeing wedding bands nestled in velvet-lined cases, we tried on one ring after the other and marveled how wedding band designs had  changed. One even had a little chain for a bored spouse to twirl around. Another was a skull with glowing ruby eyes. Jeff and I traded amused looks.

Skulls? Really?

After  trying on five or more styles, we settled on a  pair of brushed, silver, Triton bands, guaranteed to withstand the toughest of marriages.

As we hurried out to the pickup, we huddled against blistering wind whipping around us. Before Jeff pulled back onto the road, he stopped and gazed at me in wonder.

“Girl, do you realize we just bought wedding rings? Wedding rings! I  thought I’d never buy another one of those, again!”

I placed my hand on his and whispered.  “I know. Neither did I.”

We were in the best possible kind of shock.

Now, it’s been a little over a month since we met.  That may seem short, but we have found out more about each other than some couples learn in a lifetime.  Our relationship is built on love, respect, and trust. Shoot, we even like each other!

The wedding is only six weeks away, and we can hardly wait.  This time, we just “know”.

So,  ladies, how did you “just know” you had found the one? I’d love to hear from you.

Stay tuned for “Man On Board, Part III”.

*******************************

4 thoughts on “MAN ON BOARD, PART II: Sometimes You Just “Know”.

  1. Kassandra Lamb says:

    Wow, You go, girl!!

    I knew within a month but it took hubs a little longer. By 3 months, he was asking “hypothetical” questions about what if someone like him married someone like me, how would they handle issues like kids, etc. Finally a month after that I used my Sadie Hawkins privileges on Feb. 29th to ask that he admit he was talking about us getting hitched. He formally proposed two days later. (All this happened 37 years ago! We’re still together.)

Leave a Reply

