MAN OVERBOARD! Part II: Behind Doors #2, 3, and 4


Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)
Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

09-20-2013

Well, my ex-honey really did it. He up and married that con artist ex-wife he dumped me for. One and the same who left him to wallow in the muck twenty years ago. She’s a shoo-in for an Emmy in Daytime Drama. First, she played a nun. Now, she’s a nurse. What’s her next role? Doctor? Lawyer? Indian Chief?

And he bought her stories, hook, line, and stinker. In no time, she’ll work him — an upturned cockroach — over until he writhes, wriggles, and begs her to kick him right-side up. If he has any sense, he’ll skitter away to safety. Or look for me.

But I’ll be gone.

Last Wednesday marked a month since my world crumbled.. The bruises from where he dropped me on my backside are fading to yellow and gray. Since then, Someone has wiped away my tears, lifted the lead from my chest, and unlocked the shackles from my wrists and ankles. Four weeks of pounding my steering wheel and raging against insane circumstances out of my control really wore me out.

But, now, pure air rushes into my lungs. Sweet sleep follows.

At last, I am free to choose. Lined up like suitors vying for my hand are Doors #2, 3, and 4.

Behind Door #2: Time. No need to rush home and turn on Skype. I still miss my ex-sweetheart’s emotional support at the end of the day. But now, I have time to wind down and cook myself a leisurely dinner.

Next, Door #3: Choices. I’ll admit that I had become spoiled to knowing where I would spend Thanksgiving and Christmas. But, now, I’m free. Free to hop a plane to see my family. Free to get away by myself for a weekend retreat.

Last, Door #4: Future. With the man God created for me and only me. The one who, as in Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s sonnet, “How Do I Love Thee?”, will love me freely, wholeheartedly, purely, and unconditionally.

One who will, as Beyonce sings in “Single Lady”, “put a ring on it”.

**********

6 thoughts on “MAN OVERBOARD! Part II: Behind Doors #2, 3, and 4

  1. I’m really sorry you’ve had to go through this, Kim. We’ve all been there and know how much it hurts. I really like seeing your spirit and sense of renewal that’s going on now. Based on what you said, I think you’re better off. He’s the one that will eventually be sorry and it’ll be way too late. We all deserve someone who will “love me freely, wholeheartedly, purely, and unconditionally.” I hope you meet up with your someone soon. Hugs!

  2. I love you Kim, er, Miss Kitty. The future is here, the past is what we experienced. Those chapters of our lives are past and we are now in our new “Golden Years”. The last chapter and it already has the beginning of a long, fruitful, sharing and caring, exciting chapter.

Leave a Reply

