THROUGH MAMA’S EYES


03-10-2013

Lois Terry<br /><br /> (1921-2004)
Lois Terry
(1921-2004)

I have morphed into my mother. It happened when I started wearing the red, silk pajamas I gave her. The ones that fit perfectly underneath the red robe I love to linger in on cool mornings. The ones the nurses dolled her up in during the last days of her life.

I see it in my smile.  When I Skype with Von. When I talk on the phone to Tam and Terry.

And when I watch t.v. with  feet propped on the coffee table while eating lunch. Just the way she did when it was just us girls.

And I hear it in my voice. The same pitch. The same warmth

Every thought passing through Mama’s brain  sparkled in her eyes. Even as she was actively passing away, her eyes told me that someone mighty grand was beckoning her. Somebody like my daddy. And Jesus.

I’ve always heard that we turn into our moms. I’m honored and humbled to say I have.

2 thoughts on “THROUGH MAMA’S EYES

  1. Kassandra Lamb says:

    Yes, we do turn into our mothers and I’m not so sure how I feel about that. I’m glad you are okay with it, Kim. For me, I loved my mother, but when I look in the mirror and see her looking back, I have a mini identity crisis. Your mom sounds like she was a neat lady!

  2. Tracy Campbell says:

    Hi Kim,
    Your tribute to your mom brought tears to my ears.
    Thank you for sharing and isn’t it wonderful to know she’s with Jesus. 🙂
    And thank you so much for commenting on my first guest post.
    Have a Blessed and Happy Easter.
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

