I AM BEAUTY, I AM TRUTH


I am Beauty:

a butterfly fluttering

my iridescent, multicolored wings,

cheering those trapped

in drab, monochromatic lives.

With rational fancy,

I share my healing spirit

with children troubled by loneliness,

patients irrational from pain,

prisoners aching with despair,

and families grieving loved ones

within graveyard gates.

I am Truth:

a poem of hope

penned on hopeless hearts,

a song of praise

hummed by mute lips,

and a prayer of salvation

lifted up for lost souls.

** Kim Kathleen Terry **

Third-place winner in the Poetry Month contest.

Leave a Reply

